Stonewall Women’s Fund Presents

An Evening with RITA MAE BROWN

Sponsored by Darcy J Beeman, CFP® Financial Advisor | Edward Jones

Thursday, October 24, 2024 | 5:30 PM
Center for Spiritual Living | 4849 N Dixie Hwy, Oakland Park 
Author Discussion | Q&A | Book Signing

Stonewall National Museum, Archives, & Library is pleased to present the iconic, American feminist author Rita Mae Brown. Few authors today have proved themselves to be as versatile or prolific as Rita Mae Brown. The author of over 50 books in virtually every genre, Brown is a literary pioneer and prominent social activist who first gained acclaim with her 1973 debut novel, Rubyfruit Jungle. An advocate for human and animal rights for over forty years, she is a hilarious and insightful speaker who encourages audiences to follow their own paths in writing and in life.

Copies of “Lost & Hound” will be available for purchase at the event.

“[Sister Jane] and her friends are now in their sixties and early seventies, but they remain as spry as ever, as shown in bestseller [Rita Mae] Brown’s stately thirteenth mystery set in Virginia hunt country. . . . Animal lovers and those curious about the elite world of foxhunting will be rewarded.”—Publishers Weekly

Registration Pricing:

Ruby Fruit Jungle Level 1 VIP Seating

Level 1 VIP Seating
Rows A-F*


Ruby Fruit Jungle Level 2 Seating

Level 2 Seating
Rows G-M*


Ruby Fruit Jungle Level 3 Seating

Level 3 Seating
Rows 14-19*


* Note: There are no assigned seats. Your ticket will reflect the section in which you have purchased your tickets. 


Rita Mae Brown is a New York Times-bestselling author, activist, and screenwriter. A writer of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, Brown is the author of over 50 books which have been translated into eight languages. With razor-sharp wit, Brown gives entertaining and enlightening talks about her writing and advocacy throughout the years.

In 1973, Brown published her debut novel Rubyfruit Jungle, a landmark coming-of-age story about a young woman forging her own path and refusing to apologize for her sexuality. The book has been heralded as a milestone, with The New York Times calling it “groundbreaking” and Gloria Steinem praising it as “the rare work of fiction that has changed real life.”

Since her debut, Brown has continued to write literary fiction while also venturing into other genres. She is the recipient of two Emmy nominations and the Writer’s Guild of America Award for best television variety show. Brown is also the author of numerous mystery novels, including the New York Times-bestselling Mrs. Murphy series, which she writes with her feline co-author, Sneaky Pie Brown, and the beloved Sister Jane fox-hunting novels, which most recently featured the new title Out of Hounds. She has also written poetry and nonfiction.

Rita Mae Brown has remained a prominent activist for human and animal rights for over forty years. In 2015, she received the Lambda Literary Pioneer Award for “individuals who have broken new ground in the field of LGBT literature and publishing.” Brown is also the recipient of the 2015 Lee Lynch Classic Book Award.

An animal-lover and humane hunter, Brown is a Master and Huntsmen of Oak Ridge Foxhunt Club (where she does not kill foxes), and has hunted with the Waldingfield Beagles, the oldest beagle pack in America. She lives in Afton, Virginia, on a farm with her cats, hounds, horses, and big red foxes.